Help Centre

Support > Ecommerce > Selling Online

How To Use The Abandoned Basket Recovery Tool

Not everyone who adds an item to the basket converts into a sale. These sales can often  be lost forever however, using the Abandoned Basket Recovery tool, you can gain insight into a potential customer’s basket activity, your own shop’s abandonment rate and re-engage shoppers to encourage them back.

There may be times when a potential customer will come into your shop, begin making a purchase and then fail to complete it. This is referred to as an "Abandoned Basket." A basket with items is considered “abandoned” after 2 hours. The customers’ basket session is then saved for their return for 30 days thereafter.

Within that 30 day time period, your potential customer can retrieve their basket by going back to your shop via the cookie we have provided – their basket session will be saved for them just as they left it (unless something’s gone out of stock!).

The shopper can also recover their basket session via a permalink. This is provided in a customised email and sent through your Create Shop (depending on package type).

The Abandoned Basket tool has three areas:

To locate the Abandoned Basket tool follow the steps below:

  1. Log into your Create account
  2. Click “Shop” on the top menu
  3. Click “Abandoned Basket”

If you have any questions at all about the features of the Abandoned Basket, please do contact your Account Manager who will be happy to go through it with you.